About

Work in Progress: My Fledgling Web Site

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-06-16 - 2:56 p.m.

FATHER'S DAY

had better get something written, b4 i find myself totally absorbed in other ventures (i.e., i start a new class t'morrow) ...

have of late been spending too much time reading (other web logs) & not enuf time tending to my own ... the "grass is greener" syndrome (the fruits of my labour appearing pale in comparison to other efforts i've read) is definitely alive & well ... i do know this is not a competition, but i do feel the bar has been raised a few feet above where it was as recently as a few days ago ... no, not to compete - just to measure up ...

father's day ... my 84 yr-old dad spent his in the midwest, wearing his new father's day tie (it's become a tradition of sorts, over the years - if he didn't get one he'd surely ask where it was) to church ... his offspring have replanted themselves in separate locations on the west coast ... each one quite content to stay in their own corner of this geographical triangle & to date have been unsuccessful at getting any of the others to budge from theirs ... it's just the way it is at the moment

... dad is in the process of selling the family home (after 47 years in residence) & moving into senior housing ... he's been on the waiting list for the apartment for 2 years (since mom died) so has had lots of time to get used to the idea of down sizing ... son & daughter-in-law will spend their summer vacation helping him divest what's still left of 40+ years of accumulation ...

aside from some vision problems, kept in check with medication, his health remains excellent ... he's more active now than ever & God willing, will remain so for many years to come ...

... whereas my mother always liked my brother best, my dad has always been there for me ... his love, acceptance & approval has always been unconditional - regardless of how stupid some of my choices have turned out to be ...

... here's to you dad, happy father's day to the best dad in the world ...

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com